Home > Our Team > Humanities Department

Humanities Department

Vision

To aspire to be a department of excellence that offers students an education that equips them with an analytical mind.

Mission

To inspire Yusoffians to be curious scholars equipped with a critical mind and a passion to contribute to society

The Humanities Department oversees the following subjects:

·         Lower Secondary History, Geography and Social Studies 

·         Combined Humanities (Social Studies, Geography Elective and 
History Elective)

·         History 

·         Geography 

 

Key Programmes for 2018

No

Programme

Level

1.

Historical Investigation @ National Museum + Archaeological Site @Fort Canning

Sec 1E & 1NA

2.

Historical Investigation @ National Museum

Sec 2E & 2NA

3.

Geographical Investigation- Water Testing @ Kallang River Bishan Park

Sec 1E & 1NA

4.

Geographical Investigation- Housing- Building an Inclusive Housing Estate

Sec 2E & 2NA

5.

Geographical Investigation – Investigating a suitable study corner in YISS

Sec 3E & 3NA

6.

Geographical Investigation – Coastal Studies @ East Coast Park

Sec 3E

7.

Geographical Investigation – What makes Gardens by the Bay a tourist destination?

Sec 4E, 4NA & 5NA

8.

Social Studies Issues Investigation – A multicultural snapshot

Sec 3E & 3NA)

 

9.

Social Studies Learning Journey – Harmony in Diversity Gallery

Sec 1NT

Sec 3E & 3NA

8.

NUS Geography Challenge 2018

Sec 3E

9.

History Challenge 2018

Sec 3E

10.

H.S.I Challenge

Sec 2E

11.

S.U.R.E Storyboard Competition 2018

Sec 1E


Name of Staff

E-mail

Mdm Ruby Jayanthi (HOD)

ruby_simmon@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Song Li May (Year Head)

song_li_may@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Rabiatul Adawiya Binhan (SH History)

rabiatul_adawiya_binhan@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Wei Leng Cheong (ST Geography

cheong_wei_leng@moe.edu.sg

Ms Luo Yuhui

luo_yuhui@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Nur Khairunnisah Abdul Jamil

nur_khairunnisah_abdul_jamil@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kang Wei Yang

kang_wei_yang@moe.edu.sg

Ms Nur Iznina Zainudin

nur_iznina_zainudin@moe.edu.sg