Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 9.38.08 AM.pngSLS.png
YISS > Our Partners > SAC


The purpose of the School Advisory Committee (SAC) is to provide an opportunity for citizens and permanent residents to participate actively in the Government’s education policy of building a dynamic, strong and self-reliant generation.
The functions of the SAC are:
  • To promote closer relationship in various ways, between members of the local community and the school leaders, teachers and students in Government schools.
  • To provide opportunities for the local community to take an interest in student welfare and encourage students’ co-curricular activities aimed at character development and their overall growth in line with the Desired Outcomes of Education; and
  • To raise funds for carrying out such activities.
The SAC includes members from the following categories of people:
  • Parents and Alumni;
  • Professionals and Businessmen; and
  • Grassroots Leaders
The Yusof Ishak Secondary School’s SAC comprises the following members:


S/N Name Title
1 Mr Eric Lim Gim Huat Chairman
2 Mr Chan Thud Chee Vice-Chairman
3 Dr W.A.M. Alwis Vice-Chairman
4 Mr David Yan Ko Yuen Honorary Treasurer
5 Mr William Loh Yoon Fatt Member
6 Mr Chan Wai Kheong Member
7 Dr Thiagarajan Palaniappan Member
8 Prof Teo Ee Chon Member
9 Dr Wu Hong Member
10 Mr Lionel Teo Eng Thye Member
11 Ms Vicky Tan Geok Pian Member
12 Dr Sandy Chong Yee Ling Member


2016 Events

51st Speech Day

51st Speech Day 1

51st Speech Day 2

Teachers' Day Hi-Tea

Teachers Day Hi-Tea.JPG


2015 Events

50th Speech Day




50th Anniversary Dinner



Teachers' Day Hi-Tea



Opening of YI Heritage Gallery