Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 9.38.08 AM.pngSLS.png
 
Home > Our Team > English Department

English Department

English Language & Literature Department 2018

Vision

Confident and proficient communicators of the English Language who are self-directed learners

Mission

To provide engaging and authentic experiences for Yusoffians to be active collaborators of the English Language

No.

Programme

Level

Scheduled for

i/c

1

Reading Programme 2018

  • BYOB
  • Periodicals
  • NLB Mass Book Borrowing
  • Book Display
  • Book Sharing

Sec 1-5

Jan-Nov

Azwiza Ahmad & team (Sandra Vincent; Luo Yuhui, Nur Iznina)

2

Storytelling – 100 Days in YI – Vlog Edition) Competition (Curriculum)

Sec 1ENANT

Mar-Oct

Ong Yun Ping

Norliah Rabani

3

Drama Workshop (in-house trainer

Sec 1ENANT

T1/T2

Pamela He

4

Plain English Speaking (PLENS) Competition (Curriculum)

Sec 2ENANT

Mar-Apr (2 May, T2W7)

Kala Devi

Luo Yuhui

5

Debate-in-Classroom

3ENANT

Jan-Mar

Gordon Tan

Kang Wei Yang

Azwiza Ahmad

Jasmine Chua

6

SGEM

  • Assembly programme
  • SGEM-infused lessons

Sec 1-5

ShowcaseMar (end of T1

Curriculum lessons)

T1W10

Jasmine Chua

Norliah Rabani

7

(Part of SGEM)

Spelling Bee: Spell it if You Can (Open Category)

Sec 1-4NT

T1W10

Norliah Rabani

8

Project Xperience! (Simulation/Experience)

Sec 1 Food Presentation

Sec 2 News Reporting

Sec 3 Job Interview (Sep)

Sec 4 VIA

Sec 1-4NT

Jan-Oct

Norliah Rabani

Luo Yuhui

Jasmine Chua

Ng Chin Ling (i/c)

9

External EL-related competitions

Sec 1-5

On-going

Sandra Marie Vincent (writing competitions)

Gordon Tan (speaking competitions)

Kang Wei Yang (others)

10

EL MaxOut/Debate team

Training and Competitions

Sec 1-3

Jan-Oct

Gordon Tan

Nur Iznina

11



EL Oral Portals (Curriculum)

  • EN[a]BLERS
  • we-Learn

Sec 1-4ENA,

Sec 1-4NT

Jan-Nov



All EL teachers

Luo Yuhui (SRA Coordinator)

12

EL P1 Handbook (2018 Edition)

Sec 1-5

By Feb

Kala Devi

Jasmine Chua

13

National Schools Literature Festival (NSLF)

  • Book Trailer
  • Choral Reading
  • Debate Set Text
  • Debate Unseen

Sec 1-4 (selected students and upper sec Lit students)

July

Gordon Tan i/c

Sandra Vincent

Pamela He

Support duties

13

Upload  EL materials onto website

On-going

Ng Chin Ling

14

Prizes for competitions

On-going

Kang Wei Yang

15

Update ELL Dept board every term

On-going

Nur Iznina (Sem 1)

Sally Hong (Sem 2)

Internal Oral exam duties

16

EL Oral Mid-year Examination

Sec 1-3

April-May

All EL teachers

17

EL Oral Prelim Examination

Sec 4-5

April-May

Selected EL teachers

18

EL Oral Coaching Sessions for graduating classes

Sec 4-5

June-July

All EL teachers

19

EL Oral End-of-year Examination

Sec 1-3

Sep-Oct

All EL teachers



Staff

Name of Staff

Email

Azwiza Ahmad (HOD ELL)

azwiza_ahmad@moe.edu.sg

Ong Yun Ping (HOD CCE)

ong_yun_ping@moe.edu.sg

Sandra Marie Vincent

sandra_marie_vincent@moe.edu.sg

Kala Devi Santha Kumar

kala_devi_santha_kumar@moe.edu.sg

Ng Chin Ling

ng_chin_ling@moe.edu.sg

Gordon Tan Jeng

tan_jeng_gordon@moe.edu.sg

Sally Hong Jie Hui

hong_jie_hui@moe.edu.sg

Luo Yuhui

luo_yuhui@moe.edu.sg

Jasmine Chua Jie Min

jasmine_chua_jie_min@moe.edu.sg

Kang Wei Yang

kang_wei_yang@moe.edu.sg

Norliah Rabani

norliah_rabani@moe.edu.sg

Pamela He Hui Mei

he_hui_mei_pamela@moe.edu.sg