Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 9.38.08 AM.pngSLS.png
 
YISS > Our Team > English Department

English Department

English Language & Literature Department 2020

Vision

Confident and proficient communicators of the English Language who are self-directed learners

Mission

To provide engaging and authentic experiences for Yusoffians to be active collaborators of the English Language

No.

Programme

Level

Scheduled for

i/c

1

Reading Programme 2020


Sec 3-5

Jan-Nov

Luo Yuhui, Nur Iznina


(NEW!)

Kala Devi - publicity of good practices/reading culture 


2

Debate-in-Classroom (Curriculum)

*Hosting Singapore Secondary Schools Debate Competition (SSSDC) on 27 Mar 2020

3ENANT

Jan-Mar

Gordon Tan

Azwiza Ahmad

Nur Iznina Zainudin

3

Public Speaking (Enrichment)

3ENANT

T1-2

Nur Iznina Zainudin

4

Public Speaking (Enrichment)

Sec 4NT

T1-2

Luo Yuhui

5

Speak Good English (SGEM) Week

  • Assembly programme

  • SGEM-infused lessons

  • after-school activities: Spelling Bee: Spell it if You Can & Scrabble in the foyer

Sec 3-5

ShowcaseMar (end of T1

Curriculum lessons)

T1W10 

Norliah Rabani (ic)

Ong Yun Ping


6

Maximise your Comprehension Score Workshop

Sec 4E5N

T1W10 or T2W1

Azwiza Ahmad

7

Project Xperience! (Simulation/Experience)

Sec 3 Job Interview (Sep)

Sec 4 Social Issue: Needy Elderly

Sec 3-4NT

Jan-Oct

Luo Yuhui (NT Coordinator)

Norliah Rabani

Gordon Tan

8

External EL-related competitions (Writing/Speaking)

Sec 3-5

On-going

Kala Devi

9

EL Debate team 

Training and Competitions

Sec 3-4

Jan-Oct

Gordon Tan

Nur Iznina Zainudin

10




SLS (Curriculum)

  • 1 original SLS lesson per semester


Sec 3-5

Jan-Oct




Gordon Tan (ICT Rep)

11

PD

Metacognition (Inquiry through Dialogue) - Ong Yun Ping/Gordon Tan

Differentiated Instruction (DI) - Azwiza Ahmad/Kala Devi

Core Group: 

Jan-Nov

Azwiza Ahmad

Kala Devi 

Ong Yun Ping

Gordon Tan


Support duties

12

*Prizes for competitions


On-going

Norliah Rabani

13

Update EL Dept board every semester


On-going

Kala Devi

Internal Oral exam duties

14

EL Oral Prelim Examination

Sec 4-5

April-May

All EL teachers

15

EL Oral Coaching Sessions for graduating classes

Sec 4-5

June-Aug

All EL teachers

16

EL Exam Day Coaching for graduating Classes

Sec 4-5

July -Aug

All EL Teachers

17

EL Oral End-of-year Examination

Sec 3

Sep-Oct

All EL teachers


Staff

Name of Staff

Email

Azwiza Ahmad (HOD ELL)

azwiza_ahmad@moe.edu.sg

Ong Yun Ping (HOD CCE)

ong_yun_ping@moe.edu.sg

Kala Devi Santha Kumar

kala_devi_santha_kumar@moe.edu.sg

Gordon Tan Jeng

tan_jeng_gordon@moe.edu.sg

Sally Hong Jie Hui

hong_jie_hui@moe.edu.sg

Luo Yuhui

luo_yuhui@moe.edu.sg

Norliah Rabani

norliah_rabani@moe.edu.sg