Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 9.38.08 AM.pngSLS.png
 
Home > Our Team > Humanities Department

Humanities Department

Vision

To aspire to be a department of excellence that offers students an education that equips them with an analytical mind.

Mission

To inspire Yusoffians to be curious scholars equipped with a critical mind and a passion to contribute to society

The Humanities Department oversees the following subjects:

·         Lower Secondary History, Geography and Social Studies 

·         Combined Humanities (Social Studies, Geography Elective and 
History Elective)

·         History 

·         Geography 

 

Key Programmes for 2018

Inquiry Based Curriculum- Developing Critical and Creative Thinkers

  1. Historical Investigation (Lower Secondary)

  2. Geographical Investigation (Lower Secondary)

  3. Issues Investigation (Social Studies-Upper Secondary)


Learning for Joy- Discovering Interests, Growing Passions

  1. Humanities Week

  2. Fortnightly Broadcasts on Current Affairs

  3. Food Cultivation (Geography)


Pedagogy- Customising Curriculum to Balance Rigour and Joy

  1. Using Drama as a pedagogy in the Lower Secondary History Classroom

  2. Think Aloud Routines in the Humanities Classroom

  3. Game Based Learning


Making Connections: Deepening & Application of Knowledge

  1. Overseas Geography Fieldtrip to Tanjong Sedili

  2. Social Studies Fieldtrip to Harmony in Diversity Gallery for the Upper Secondary Students.

  3. National University of Singapore Geography Challenge (NUS GC) 2019

  4. Historical Scene Investigation Challenge (HSI)


Name of Staff

E-mail

Mdm Ruby Jayanthi (HOD)

ruby_simmon@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Song Li May (Year Head)

song_li_may@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Rabiatul Adawiya Binhan (SH History)

rabiatul_adawiya_binhan@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Wei Leng Cheong (ST Geography

cheong_wei_leng@moe.edu.sg

Ms Luo Yuhui

luo_yuhui@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Nur Khairunnisah Abdul Jamil

nur_khairunnisah_abdul_jamil@moe.edu.sg

Mr Kang Wei Yang

kang_wei_yang@moe.edu.sg

Ms Nur Iznina Zainudin

nur_iznina_zainudin@moe.edu.sg