Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 9.38.08 AM.pngSLS.png
 
Home > Our Team > Mother Tongue Department

Mother Tongue Department

Vision

To nurture confident communicators, gracious citizens and global thinkers who are proud of their language and culture.

 

Mission

We strive to make the learning of language, culture, and values enjoyable and meaningful for all our learners.

 

Key Pedagogy

Cooperative Learning Approach Facilitated by ICT Tools (Google Classroom, Online Mind-mapping Tools, Google Apps, etc)


Key Programmes

 

No.

Programme

Level

Schedule

1

Academic Support Programme

Sec 2-5

On-going

2

One-to-One Oral Coaching

Sec 2-5

On-going

3

MTL Reading Programme on Current Issues

Sec 2-5

Term 1-3

4

MTL Video Making Project Work

Sec 2-3

Term 1-3

5

Intensive Revision Programme for O Level Exam

Sec 4-5

May

6

MTL Oral Clinic

Sec 4-5 & Sec 3 HCL

June

7

MTL Fortnight Programme

Sec 2-3

July

8

Conversational Chinese and Malay Language

Sec 2

Oct

 

Achievements in Competitions (2017 - 2018)


Competitions

Awards

1

National Story Challenge 2017 (Mandarin)

National Champion 

2

National Children's Story Writing Competition (Chinese Language)

1st Prize (Lower Sec) 

2nd Prize ( Upper Sec) 

3

National On-the-Spot Chinese Story Writing Competition 2017

3rd Prize

4

10th National Chinese Short Film Competition for Secondary Schools 2017

Best Production and Costume Design Award

Online Most Voted Short Film Award

Best Leading Actress Award

5

SG Wikipedia TL Competition 2017

Top 20

6

The Frontier CC TL Creative writing Competition for Secondary Schools

5th  Place 

7

Pena Emasku (ML Story Writing Competition)

12 Gold Awards

2 Silver awards. 

14th Position out of 400 plus essays 

8

National Secondary Schools Chinese Mini-Fiction Creative Writing Competition 2018 

Excellence Award

9

National Reading Superstar Competition 2018 

1st Prize

10

Amazing Race Lumbuba 2018

3rd Place

11

Malay Language Essay Writing Competition (Anugerah Pena Emas 2018)

10 Gold Awards 

2 Silver Awards 

Top 30 out of 300 plus essays 


Highlights for Professional Development (2017-2018)


  1. Chinese Language Open Classroom on Using MAPS Strategy for West Zone Teachers (2017)


  1. A Paper titled ' Penerapan Nilai Melalui Bahan Sastera dan Media / Inculcating Values through The Use of Literature and Media” was presented at World Association of Lessons Studies (WALS) International Conference 2017, Nagoya University, Japan.


  1. Participation in the National SLS Design Challenge 2018 and Collaboration with Master Teacher from AST (Chinese Language) .

Staff

S/No

Name

Designation

Email

1

Mdm Yin Na

HOD/MTL

yin_na@moe.edu.sg

2

Mdm Yahida Bte Yahya

HOD/NT

yahida_yahya@moe.edu.sg

3

Mr Saravana Perumal

TL Coordinator

k_saravanaperumal@moe.edu.sg

4

Mdm Cheng Jing

Teacher (CL)

cheng_jing@moe.edu.sg

5

Ms Tan Jing Ying

Teacher (CL)

tan_jing_ying@moe.edu.sg

6

Mdm You Lixia

Teacher (CL)

you_lixia@moe.edu.sg

7

Mdm Siti Zainab Binte Zainal

Teacher (ML)

siti_zainab_zainal@moe.edu.sg

8

Mdm Dian Syahidah Bte Abdul Aziz

Teacher (ML)

dian_syahidah_abdul_aziz@moe.edu.sg

9

Mr Ishak Lias

Teacher (ML)

ishak_lias@moe.edu.sg

10

Mdm Nur Khairunnisah Abdul Jamil

Teacher (ML)

nur_khairunnisah_abdul_jamil@moe.edu.sg

11

Mrs Catherine Jeyaseelan

Teacher (TL)

catherine_jeyaseelan@moe.edu.sg